Garden 2013

So for the last month we have been getting the garden done. We have been tilling, raking, mulching, landscaping, planting, etc… I am almost done. Still have a couple tomatoes to go. Here is a picture of the whole large garden
Garden

It is double the size of last year. We have ventured into new crops. I have planted potatoes, onions (Red and white), garlic, cauliflower, shallots, beets, cucumbers, pickling cucumbers, zucchini, 45 tomato plants, 24 pepper plants, a pumpkin, watermelons, green beans, lettuce, wax beans, cantaloupes, midget melons, corn (3 varieties) and sunflowers.

IMG_4000

THey are fairing pretty well so far with the exception of my garlic 😦 I did have to fight some aphids on my tomatoes. We have been having lots of rain. I am praying we don’t have the bad storms they are calling for.

As for ‘landscaping”. I did purchase landscape fabric (and used last years leftovers) and then put grass clippings over it to keep out the weeds. I still have a bunch more to do but have to wait for the grass to grow. you could also use newspapers for this.

Leave a Reply

