Spring has sprung and homemade bread crumbs

IMG_3746

Spring has sprung here in the sticks of PA. Flowers are out. My seedlings I started are up. We have gotten four truckloads of wood getting ready for next year!

In other news I had seen a easy way to make homemade breadcrumbs with a dehydrator. While I passed at buying one at an auction for $5.00, I decided to go the easy route and ask my dad to borrow his that has been taking up space in the barn.

I got a loaf of clearance bread at Wal-Mart (not a store bought loaf, a bakery load of Italian). I cut it up into about one fourth inch thin slices and put them into all five of the dehydrator trays. After four hours I checked them and started pulling out the crumbly ones and left the ones that were still moist. I put them into my mini food processor and grinded them fine, threw in some garlic powder and voila…homemade bread crumbs. Out of this I got a salasa jar and a relish jar full of bread crumbs. I am not sure how long they will keep but it should be for a while in their air tight containers.

Leave a Reply

