Homemade bread from scratch…I conqured you!!!

I remember the smell of bread and rolls at my grandma’s. Now of course before frozen bread dough my grandma made it from scratch but when I was a kid my one grandma used frozen bread dough. I have done that also. I decided to get froggy and explore with a recipe on making homemade white bread from scratch. While this sounds intimidating, it was actually quite easy.

First off the bread flour that I got was King Arthur, the older flour company in the U.S.A. It started in 1790 and is the oldest in the country. It also impresses me by not using GMO wheat. It is a company that is owned by its employees. Actually at our local Wal-mart the price was $3.78.

Here is the recipe I used.

2 Packages active dry yeast

2 1/2 cups lukewarm water

1/2 cup slightly warmed milk

2 1/2 tablespoons of sugar

1 teaspoon of salt

1/3 cup cooking oil

7 1/2 cups sifted flour.

Dissolve yeast in water. Add sugar, milk, oil and salt. Stir gently. Add about half of the flour mixure to make a batter. Continue to stir to ensure ingredients are evenly distributed throughout. Gradually add enough remaining flour to make a soft dough. Dough should not be so sticky that it stick to the sides of the bowl. If after adding the remaining flour and the dough is still sticky, you may add additional 1/4 cup of flour. Extra flour should only be added in SMALL increiments.

While in bowel cover with towel or lid and allow to sit for 20 minites. Turn the dough out onto a floured surfae. Knead for about 5 minutes. DO NOT OVER KNEAD. THIS MAKES A TOUGHER BREAD TEXTURE. Divide dough into two 9×5 bread load pans. Let dough rise for an hour to an hour and a half. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Bake for 30-35 minutes. Bread will sound hollow when you tap on it. Remove the loaves from pans and allow then to cool.

I Learned this recipe can actually make 3 medium sized loaves. The smaller loaf turned out perfect according to my mom. The second bigger load I kept was doughy in the middle, but still good. I put it back in the oven for 10 minutes. It was okay though. Watch closely as your oven may cook different like mine does. You can always stick a toothpick in it and make sure it comes out clean.

This is my first experiement with bread from scratch. My mom called me joyous and told me it was almost like her mom’s. Great, I guess in my second life I did it like my first lol. Inside joke! Enjoy the recipet; I cant wait to try rolls, pepperoni rolls and more.

Leave a Reply

