Stockpiling

Stockpiling is a broad topic.  You don’t know how much you can benefit from a “stockpile” until something drastic happens.  I know this from when I had stockpiled for a while and didn’t have a job.  We used what we had except for some perishables.  This helped in more ways then one could imagine unless you have went through it also.  Stockpiling helps in so many ways.  It takes a little extra cash and some room, but is well worth it if you are on a tight budget and the unexpected happens to you and your family.

I didn’t actually start stockpiling when I started using coupons.  I started much later.  I used coupons when I moved out of my parents house at age 20.  I started stockpiling after I got married.  It started out small with extra money and coupons and multiples of things purchased on sale.  I ended up taking advantage of everything free to cheap I could get my paws and couposn on.

I stored things in my kitchen cabinets and bathroom cabinet until I asked my hubby to add to the storage by adding a shelf in the bathroom cabinet with just brackets and a cut piece of plywood.  This held our health and beauty items.  Underneath of this was our toilet paper, bathroom cleaning supplies, overflow and paper towels.  I am looking for a small shelving unit to stick in the closet for our TP and paper towels.  At an auctio I ended up paying $5.00 for two cupboards.  They both were matching and had two sets of doors that opened to two shlelves and a bottom door that opened to a big storage area.  Of course in a garage they could only store canned goods, cleaning products or health and beauty items.  I quickly filled one top shelf with my hubby’s overflow of body wash, deoderant and razors. The bottom of one has styrafoam plates and lightbulbs.  The other one is storing an vast overflow of candles from auction boxes.  I keep them in case the electric goes out in the winter like it did in 2010.  I have mainly cleaning supplies down here and some shampoo overflow.

When you are stockpiling aside from the rotation of items by date (putting newer items in the back and older to front) you must remember that things usually go on sale in cycles.  I have been doing this long enough to know.  If you do coupons for a while you will see also.  Of course there are unexpected sales and specials.   A great example would be today at a store I saw they had Ball Park franks on sale for $0.99 each.  I had a coupon for $0.75 off of two packs.  This made them $0.25 a pack STOCKPILE TIME.  Well okay I got three for me and three for my mom.  I am planning on a freezer at an upcoming auction, if not I plan on putting a small chest freezer on lawyaway at K-Mart.  I don’t want to, but I know I will have to eventually for storage and especially if we go all out in a garden next year.

On the topic of cycles there is the fact that sales happen in cycles.  Example in the summer between Memorial Day and Labor Day you can find a lot of condiments on sale mustard, ketchup, salad dressings and BBQ sauce.  Take advantage of these sales and stock up when they are the cheapest for the rest of the year.  Baking items will be on sale of course closer to the holidays.  Soups and such will be on sale now that weather is getting colder and you can stockpile those items.  Use websites to help you know what is on sale and take advantage.  I will speak more of this in the next post when I tell you about my shopping trip.

What will you stockpile?

Leave a Reply

