Homemade Taco Seasoning

Among the things I did today in the beautiful fall weather was trim bushes around our house, clean the windows ont the outside,  stir my compost barrel, did some laundry, and when hubby got home picked the pumpkins.  He texted me and requested that I wait until he came home for us to pick them.  Otherwise I would have picked them and had the garden cleaned up.  I also want to see if my dad wants our leftover green tomatos to put in his greenhouse and see if they ripen.  I did dig up two small pepper plants that are just starting to bloom and give to him so that they may produce hopefully through the winter for him and my mom.

In between doing things I resorted to the taco seasoning mix I found at http://heavenlyhomemakers.com/homemade-taco-seasoning-mix I mean really could anything be more simple.  At first, I thought the recipe was overrated that is until I actually looked at my own packet of Old El Paso taco seasoning and seen what ingredients was in it, a lot of which were preservatives and chemicals that made it not stick together.  I printed out my own copy of this wonderful seasoning recipe and put it in a spaghetti sauce jar.  I did add my own stuff to it and suggest that you play with it to make it your own.  I added some Memphic BBQ seasoning and some red pepper.  Not much but a hint.  I love spicy stuff so.  A batch isn’t that big, but I don’t want it too get too clumpy and I use it for chili and taco dishes.

Making my own seasoning made me happy and to know that I have most ingredients leftover to make another batch when I use this one was exciting.  It will be cheaper in the end also doing it this way for as much as I use in stuff and I know where it came from.

Leave a Reply

